The Endoscopic and Laparoscopic Surgeons of Asia (ELSA) is a non-profitable organization founded by a small group of Asian endoscopic and laparoscopic surgery enthusiasts in 1990. The society was chartered in Singapore on 12 June 1992 with the following objectives: to foster and develop endoscopic surgery in Asia, to share experience and expertise, and to give advice on standards of practice in member countries.

ELSA today is the major regional representative for endoscopic surgeons in the Asia-Pacific. It is a founding member of the International Federation of Societies of Endoscopic Surgeons (IFSES), and its governing body consists of leaders in endoscopic surgery from 37 countries in the Asia-Pacific, from Turkey in the west to New Zealand in the east.


The ELSA newsletter will be updated for all ELSA events. Members are welcome to share their knowledge, experience and expertise which are of particular significance to our practice of endoscopic surgery in the Asia-Pacific.

Members can visit our website at www.elsa-soc.com from time to time to get ELSA's updated information and events.

Annual ELSA Congress

The annual ELSA Congress represents an important event in the international calendar of endoscopic surgery. This is in addition to the numerous regional meetings organized under ELSA's auspice.


At the Board of Governors meeting held in October 1996 in Thailand, it was resolved that any surgeon who belongs to the national endoscopic society in any of ELSA's member countries will immediately be eligible to be a member of ELSA upon payment of the appropriate fee.

Surgeons who belong to an established international endoscopic society (e.g., SAGES) will also be treated likewise, while surgeons who do not belong to any existing society and would like to join ELSA may do so with the support of two ELSA members.


National Collaborative Societies 


Australia  |  Bangladesh  |  Brunei    |   China   |    England   |   Germany   |   Hong Kong |  India   |  Indonesia   |  Japan   |   Korea   |   Macau   |   Malaysia   |   Myanmar   |   Nepal   |   Oman   |   Pakistan   |   Philippines   |   Russia   |   Sabah   |   Saudi Arabia   |   Singapore   |   Sri Lanka   |   Taiwan   |   Thailand   |  Turkey    |  UAE   |  Vietnam